在哈珀,我们理解为扩大先进材料的生产规模,必要的研发工作是至关重要的。从第一天起,我们就利用在热工艺研发计划方面的丰富经验协助客户,确保客户通过工艺开发、优化和试运行来实现生产规模的扩大。哈珀为客户提供多个研究设施,以帮助客户开发最有效率和效力的机制来实现目标:

技术研究中心 –  美国纽约州哈珀总部

技术研究中心 – 美国纽约州哈珀总部让哈珀帮助您将下一个材料创新从设想变为现实。我们的技术研究中心已与成百上千家公司有过合作,协助他们通过工艺的开发和优化来实现商业规模的扩大或建立满足特定工艺要求的系统。客户可以利用许多现场热力系统收集数据,并重点根据变化的生产率、温度状况、处理时间、炉气成分和流速对他们的工艺进行细微调整,从而最终节省建立新热处理系统所需的投入。

哈珀拥有多种热力系统,可以满足您的各种工艺情况。此外,我们还能够根据客户的具体工艺要求对现有试验设备进行量身定制。我们的现场系列设备包括:

  • 分批处理炉或连续处理炉
  • 提供多种尺寸的处理炉,具有三个温区
  • 炉内环境可为大气到氮气或特殊气体等,温度最高达 2500°C

除了热力系统外,哈珀还提供最先进的实验室环境,帮助您让自己的技术从实验室走向全球市场。我们实验室的综合测试能力包括:

  • 技术研究中心 – 美国纽约州哈珀总部SEM/EDX
  • 电子显微研究
  • 定性和定量粉末 XRD
  • 高温 XRD
  • 粒子大小分析
  • 表面积测量
  • DTA 和 TGA
  • 热扩散
  • 膨胀测量

许多客户都会根据自己的经验在测试和可行性分析阶段与哈珀合作,共同进行深入的研究来确定设备要求和最优工厂设计所需的工艺参数,进而制定技术和业务策略以及财务规划。我们在热处理工程研究方面的强大能力包括但不限于:

  • 技术研究中心 – 美国纽约州哈珀总部工艺成本模型
  • 以目前和未来的技术提高生产能力的经济性
  • 对最适合材料创新的热处理技术的分析
  • 确定提高产品质量和降低成本的机会
  • 研究从分批处理过渡到连续处理的解决方案
  • 针对特定处理系统进行材料处理解决方案的工程设计

Harper International 非常兴奋能够在我们于研发和试验基地开展的 Ignite™ 项目中,提供微波炉测试。所有的非金属和不导电材料都可在 600°-1800°C 的温度范围内进行测试。应用范围包括但不限于:陶瓷加工、粉末、成形陶瓷、活性炭、电池材料和食品加工。

合作研究设施 – 美国橡树岭国家实验室

能源部的碳纤维技术试验生产线是橡树岭国家实验室的一部分。这个 42,000 平方英尺的创新技术设施隶属于能源效率和可再生能源 (EERE) 计划办公室,它是政府和商业合作伙伴用来扩展新兴的碳纤维技术的国家测试基地。该设施内 390 英尺长的处理生产线是由 Harper International 制造的,它是进行碳纤维研发工作的理想之选。它可以定制单位操作配置,其生产能力为每年最多 25 吨或每小时最多 4.3 千克,让行业可以验证其碳纤维前驱体的转化情况和半量产规模。该设施希望成为合作研究中心,在设计上是行业内最先进、产能最高的生产线之一。碳纤维生产线可以为客户提供以下强大能力,满足其试运行需求:

  • 额定生产能力为 25 吨/年(24k PAN 丝束)
  • 针对 PAN、聚烯烃、木质素和沥青前驱体进行配置;可针对人造纤维和高模量碳纤维进行升级
  • 可生产 3k 至 80k 丝束和最大为 300mm 宽 x 12.7mm 厚的网
  • 氧化温度至 400°C,可将气流配置为平行、垂直或向下流动
  • 高温碳化至 2000°C
  • 低温碳化最多至 1000°C,能产生结构性或微米/纳米级透气纤维
  • 后处理系统在设计上是为了使纤维与高性能树脂或日用树脂相容

有关详细信息,请立即联系橡树岭国家实验室的碳纤维技术设施或 Harper International。

合作研究设施 – 美国俄亥俄州

哈珀与戴顿大学研究院合作,为我们的客户提供更多创新的研发系统。戴顿大学研究院的“多规模化合物与聚合体”部运营着一个由哈珀制造的工业级连续处理高温推板处理炉。使用此种熔炉时,材料放于托盘上或位于轨道系统上的石墨船中,然后在惰性气体下被“推”过熔炉的灼热区域。与传统的分批处理炉相比,推板处理炉的优势在于,无需对熔炉执行耗时的加热和冷却过程,从而大大降低了成本并提高了工艺的一致性。

哈珀客户可以借助该设施的下列设备能力来测试先材料,并从中获益:

  • •最高温度:2500°C
  • • 纯净的氮气环境
  • •最大部件尺寸为 19 英寸 x 19 英寸 x 3 英寸
  • •温度驻留时间可调,范围为 30 分钟至 6 小时。

合作研究设施 – 葡萄牙碳纤维试运行生产线

合作研究设施 – 葡萄牙碳纤维试运行生产线哈珀为位于葡萄牙 Lavradio 的一个合作伙伴提供了完整的碳纤维试运行生产线,作为哈珀的能力证明,特定客户可加以参考。该设施包括哈珀专有的多流氧化炉、额定温度分别为 800°C 和 1800°C 的先进低温和高温槽式炉、表面处理和废气消除系统以及拉丝机。

哈珀客户可利用该设施来验证自己的碳纤维工艺,确定进行下游研发所需的材料数量,评估连续处理的可行性,以及验证进一步扩大规模的设计参数。

如需了解更多信息,请立即联系我们或发送电子邮件至 info@harperintl.com

Research & Pilot Facilities

Harper offers clients access to a number of research and piloting facilities for thermal processing to help develop the most efficient and effective regime to meet their goal. We understand the importance of R&D necessary for the scale up of advanced materials. Using our depth and breadth of experience in thermal process programs, we partner with our customers from day one to ensure success as they scale up their operations through process development, optimization, and piloting.

• Technology Research Center – Harper Headquarters, USA
• Partner Research Facility – Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
• Partner Research Facility – UDRI, OH, USA
• Partner Research Facility – Carbon Fiber Pilot Line, Portugal

Technology Research Center –  Harper Headquarters, NY, USA

Research and Piloting Facilities for Thermal ProcessingLet Harper help bring your next material innovation from spark to reality. Hundreds of companies have used our Technology Research Center for process development and process optimization as they work toward commercial scale-up or with systems requiring unique process specifications. Customers can utilize numerous on site thermal systems to gather data and fine tune their processes, with a focus on varying production rates, temperature regimes, processing times, atmosphere compositions, and flow rates, resulting in savings on the investment ultimately required for new thermal processing systems.

Harper has a wide variety of thermal systems that can handle your process conditions. Additionally, we have the ability to make modifications to tailor the existing pilot equipment to specific customer process requirements.  Our range of equipment on site includes:

• Batch or continuous furnaces
• Sizes from small kilns to large furnaces, with 3 temperature zones
• Furnace conditions from atmospheric to nitrogen or specialty gases, with temperatures up to 2500°C

Along with our thermal systems, Harper provides state-of-the-art laboratory
Technology Center Rotaryenvironments to help transfer your technology from the lab to the global marketplace. Our comprehensive range of lab testing capabilities include:

• SEM/EDX……………………………………………………• surface area measurement
• electron microprobe……………………………………….• DTA and TGA
• qualitative and quantitative powder XRD……………….• thermal diffusivity
• high temperature XRD…………………………………….• dilatometry
• particle size analysis……………………………………… thermal and elemental analysis

As a result of their experience in the testing and feasibility stage, many customers work with Harper to conduct in-depth studies to determine equipment requirements and help define process parameters for optimal plant design to assist with technical and business strategy and financial planning. Our vast capabilities in thermal processing engineering studies include, but are not limited to:

Tech Center Elevator• process cost models
• economics of increased production capacity with current and future state technologies
• analysis of best-suited thermal process technology system for new material innovations
• identification of opportunities for improved product quality and cost reduction
• investigation of solutions for transition from batch to continuous processing
• engineering of material handling solutions for unique processing systems

Partner Research Facility – Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA

Oak Ridge National Laboratory is home to the Department of Energy’s Carbon Fiber Technology Facility. As a part of the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) program office, this 42,000 sq. ft. innovative technology facility serves as a national testbed for government and commercial partners to scale-up emerging Carbon Fiber technology. The 390-ft long processing line at this DOE facility was manufactured by Harper International and is the ideal outlet for Carbon Fiber research and development.  It is capable of custom unit operation configuration and has a capacity of up to 25 tons per year, or 4.3kg per hour, allowing industry to validate conversion of their Carbon Fiber precursors and semi-production scale. The facility aims to be a collaborative research center and is designed as one of the most sophisticated and capable lines in the industry. Clients can take advantage of their testing and piloting needs with the Carbon Fiber line’s extensive capabilities including:

  • Rated capacity 25 tons/year based on 24k PAN tows
  • Configured for PAN, polyolefins, lignin, and pitch precursors; Upgradable for rayon and high modulous carbon fibers
  • Designed for 3k to 80k tows and web up to 300mm wide x 12.7mm loft
  • Oxidation temperature to 400°C with airflow configurable for parallel, cross or down flow
  • High-temperature carbonization to 2000°C
  • Low-temperature carbonization up to 1000°C with capability to produce structural or micro/nano-porous fibers
  • Post-treatment system designed for compatibilizing fibers with performance or commodity resins

Contact Oak Ridge National Laboratory’s Carbon Fiber Technology Facility or Harper International today for more information.

Partner Research Facility – UDRI, USA

Harper has partnered with the University of Dayton Research Institute to offer our clients access to additional innovative R&D systems. The UDRI Multiscale Composites and Polymers division operates an industrial scale, continuous process high temperature Pusher style furnace manufactured by Harper. With this furnace, materials are placed on a tray or loaded into graphite boats which are placed on the track system and “pushed” through the hot zone of the furnace under inert atmosphere. The advantage of Pusher furnaces compared to a conventional batch oven is that the time consuming process of heating up and cooling down the furnace is removed, resulting in dramatic cost reductions and process uniformity.

Harper’s clients can take advantage of testing their advanced materials with the facility’s equipment capabilities including:

• Maximum temperature: 2500°C
• Purged nitrogen atmosphere
• Maximum part size is 19 in. x 19 in. x 3 in.
• Adjustable residence time at temperature, varying from 30 minutes to 6 hours.

Partner Research Facility – Carbon Fiber Pilot Line – Portugal

Harper Complete Systems for Material ProcessingHarper offers its complete carbon fiber pilot process line at a partner’s facility in Lavradio, Portugal as an open reference and capabilities demonstration to select Harper clients. This facility includes Harper’s proprietary multi-flow oxidation ovens, advanced LT and HT slot furnaces rated for 800°C and 1800°C respectively, surface treatment and waste gas abatement systems, and winders.

Here, Harper clients can utilize the facility for validation of their carbon fiber process, confirmation of material quantities to enable downstream research, assessment of feasibility of continuous operations, and validation of design parameters for further scale up.

To learn more contact us today or email info@harperintl.com.

Your Name*

Your Email*

Company*

I am interested in....
 Harper’s Ignite™ Program Harper’s Beacon™ Program Harper’s Pulse™ Program Carbon Fiber Furnaces & Ovens Rotary Furnaces Pusher Furnaces Vertical Furnaces Other

How can we help?